Here’s an exercise from the book “Programming the 6502”, 4th edition, by Rodnay Zaks.

Exercise 1.12: Complete the following additions. Indicate the result, the carry C, the overflow V, and whether the result is correct or not:


10111111  (_______)
11000001  (_______)
------------------ ﹢
________  (_______)

V:____ C:____
[ ] CORRECT [ ] ERROR

11111010  (_______)
11111001  (_______)
------------------ ﹢
________  (_______)

V:____ C:____
[ ] CORRECT [ ] ERROR

00010000  (_______)
01000000  (_______)
------------------ ﹢
________  (_______)

V:____ C:____
[ ] CORRECT [ ] ERROR

01111110 (_______)
00101010 (_______)
------------------ ﹢
________  (_______)

V:____ C:____
[ ] CORRECT [ ] ERROR

To say that this was easy to transcode in Markdown/HTML would be a grand understatement. My “code editor”, the Drafts app was fighting me all the way, and, while split view was showing me the PDF of the book in the Documents app, Apple’s native Files app was having a grand mal. So much so, that I had to reboot my iPad to get the Files app unjammed (it was completely locked up, unresponsive, frozen). I guess the 9th generation iPad isn’t cut out to do any “professional” work, like code-editing HTML 😅

I suppose if there was ever a reason to need a more pro version of the iPad, here it is. I guess an iPad Air would do much better, even if it costs twice as much as the “primary school iPad”—cough—iPad 9th generation.

I have a Raspberry Pi-400, but it has drawbacks as well, a gleaming one being lack of any good application software. Linux on the desktop is always “just a year away”, permanently 😉

I’m told 2024 will be “the year of the iPad.” I’m hoping it is, because not only is my current iPad underpowered, its battery also is getting old. You see, I’m not using it casually, as a beginner iPad user, but as a full-fledged work computer, so to say. In a school setting it would’ve been replaced, no doubt, or, at least, sent to an authorized Apple Service Center for maintenance & repair.

So, yay for 2024, may it bring me a nicer iPad.

🙄 I’m such a consumer, totally in the Apple camp of things…